Adoption continued

Since my last post, I have spent a lot of time talking to different friends about international adoption. I have been surprised by people’s responses- they are mostly negative. Not “Wow, you’re so dumb” negative, but skeptical negative.

The last time I talked to my mom about it, she commented that some people “get” adoption, and some don’t. I’ve thought about that a lot, and I think it’s definitely true. So many people assume you can’t love an adopted child the same as a biological child, and since I plan on having both, that’ll be a problem. I don’t see it that way. In my mind, as soon as I adopt, that child IS mine. 

I read this awesome quote on a blog the other day. It said, “I have 5 kids. One is adopted, but I can’t remember which one.” I love that. Once that child is part of your family, they are YOURS.

I know that I will adopt. That’s just part of my plan. And I don’t mind answering friends and family’s questions about it- certainly it’s something that not everyone understands. I’m just so excited and passionate about it that it’s surprising to hear negative comments. 

I stumbled upon another adoption blog the other day. Well, it’s not really an adoption blog, but that’s one aspect of it. Just last week the family brought their baby girl home from China. The thing I really love about this particular blog is that the mother is a photographer. A great photographer. Going through her photos from their journey to China was pretty awesome. The blog is Under the Sycamore. The little girl they adopted was on the Special Needs list and has a cleft lip and palate. She is beautiful! The family is in for a journey with all her surgeries and therapy, and I’m looking forward to reading about it.

Tagged

Tell me what you think.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 370 other followers

