I made dinner and it was awesome.

This post is not about a healthy dinner, so don’t judge me.

A couple days ago I tried my hands at Cajun chicken pasta. I had made it a couple months ago, following a recipe, and it didn’t come out great. Pretty blah. After reading over several other recipes, I decided to make it without actually following a recipe, just putting in what sounded good. And let me tell you, it was amazing. So amazing, in fact, that both Alex and I went back for seconds, and would have had thirds if there was any left.

First, I pounded a large chicken breast flat and thin, about a quarter to a half an inch thick. Then I heavily seasoned it with blackened seasoning, lemon pepper and onion powder. I melted some butter in a large skillet, cooked the chicken, then set it aside. Then I dumped about a cup of chicken broth into the skillet and added finely chopped garlic, onion and larger pieces of red bell pepper. I let those cook for a few minutes, then added in probably about a cup of heavy whipping cream. After that simmer for a while, I added a heaping spoonful of alfredo sauce and a few shakes of parmesan cheese. I tasted it and decided to add a little bit more chicken broth and some of the seasonings I’d used on the chicken. Then I dumped in some al denti fettucini, mixed it up, and let it simmer for a few minutes. Then I cut up the chicken and added it in. Once it was on my plate, I added some diced tomato. Oh man. Go cook this right now. It was so insanely flavorful and delicious. The red bell peppers mixed in perfectly with the cheesy, milky sauce. My super picky boyfriend picked out all the peppers and gave them to me, but he loved the noodles and chicken. I think this has become a staple in our house!

Tell me what you think.

