Life & Death

It’s crazy how death makes you really stop and think about life.

Alex unexpectedly lost a very close family member Tuesday morning. Since it was my birthday, he waited to call and tell me until the afternoon. It was incredibly sweet that he didn’t want to ruin my day with sad news. But it’s hard for me to think about the 5 hours he spent grieving without me there. Of course as soon as he called me I left work to be with him. Watching the person I love most in the world cry absolutely crushed me. His pain was my pain, and I just wanted to be able to take it away from him.

This tragedy has made me appreciate Alex, and everyone in my life, so much more. It makes me want to take the time tell my family and friends how much I care for them. (Mom, since you’re probably the only one reading this- I LOVE YOU!) It makes me want to get the most out of every day. I want my life to have a purpose. I want to spend my short time on this earth loving and caring for the people who mean the most to me. 

I know this is a very normal reaction to death. And everyone effected by this week’s tragedy is probably feeling the same way. It just feels profound to me, and I wanted to be sure to write it down. 

 

Tell me what you think.

