The Blizzard of Oz

Yesterday was a snow day! It felt like being back in middle school! The snow started on Wednesday and ended last night, leaving about 14.5 inches of snow on the ground. (The second highest amount of snow on record for this fair city.)

I got up like normal and took the dogs out. Though there was a lot of snow, I thought I could make it to work. I got ready, jumped in my car, and made it about 2 feet out of my garage when my car got stuck. Alex and I couldn’t get it out, so I called into work and had a snow day. Later on in the day, we went back out to clean up the drive way and get my car unstuck. While I walked to Walgreens to buy some ice melt, a very nice stranger came over and plowed our driveway. Our driveway is pretty long because our garage is behind our house, and we share an extra wide driveway with our neighbors. The man plowed the whole big driveway, and wouldn’t even let us pay him. That was one of those restored faith in humanity moments.

After that, we had a relaxing day. We did the fun stuff, like take Dexter outside and let him run around. (He loves snow. Batman hates it.) And I made a batch of snow ice cream (yum). But I also spent most of the day on the couch. It was wonderful. Alex played his video games and I watched my reality TV. And then when it came time for dinner, Alex made everything and we got to watch True Blood over dinner. I felt spoiled. It was awesome.

Tell me what you think.

