A Few of my Favorite Things- Makeup Edition

Obviously, I spend a lot of time reading adoption blogs. I also spend a lot of time reading beauty blogs. I love makeup! My bathroom is cluttered with an insane amount of it. I wanted to share some of my favorite and most-used beauty products.

My go-to work look is quick and simple. I really just want to have an even complexion and bright eyes. (Bright eyes as apposed to dark under eye circles that make me look like I just rolled out of bed.) I can never manage to get up on time, so my makeup routine takes about 5 minutes. I’ve tried many different products, and the ones I use now I absolutely love. Here’s what they are:

Clinique Moisture Surge tinted moisturizer in shade 1

Clinique Moisture Surge tinted moisturizer in Shade 1

Maybelline Color Tattoo in Bad to the Bronze

Maybelline Color Tattoo in Bad to the Bronze

Cover Girl Lash Blast Clump Crusher in very black

Cover Girl Lash Blast Clump Crusher in Very Black

NYX Cosmetics powder blush in Rose Garden

NYX Cosmetics powder blush in Rose Garden

Cover Girl Professional Mascara in Clear

Cover Girl Professional Mascara in Clear (to tame my eyebrows)

I recently discovered the Lash Blast mascara, and it is AMAZING. Seriously. If you haven’t tried it, go out and get some today. It’s only like $6 or $7, and it separates my lashes like I’ve never seen. There’s no clumps (hence the name) and it make my lashed long and defined. I wear this every single day, even on weekends. I have several high-end mascaras, and they don’t compare to this.

When Wichita got an Ulta, I discovered NYX Cosmetics. (And I heard they’re about to launch at Target!) This brand is super cheap and I like everything I’ve tried so far. This blush has made me a blush-lover.

When I want to spend some extra time on my makeup, these are my favorite products:

Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Dark Eye Eraser

Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Dark Circle Eraser

NYX Cosmetics Tinted Lip Balm in Merci

NYX Cosmetics Tinted Lip Balm in Merci

Revlon Colorstay Foundation

Revlon Colorstay Foundation

Urban Decay Naked 2 palette

Urban Decay Naked 2 palette

If I could only have one eye shadow palette, it would be Naked 2. The colors are all so pigments and beautiful, and you can create pretty much any look you want! The only reason it’s not part of my daily work look is because it’s a powder and I usually use the brush. The color tattoo eye shadow is a cream and I just apply it with my finger. (So easy!) I have probably every eye shadow color under the sun, but I really prefer a natural eye look. If I go for a color, it’s usually some shade of purple.

I really love the sponge applicator on the dark circle eraser concealer. It helps me distribute just the right amount of product.

I hardly ever wear anything on my lips except chapstick. I’ve tried tons of different lipsticks, glosses and stains, and I just don’t like most of them. I find that most lip products make my lips look flakey, and that’s just ugly. The NYX tinted balms are awesome! They’re really pigmented, but somehow still sheer. Since it’s a balm, it’s moisturizing and doesn’t highlight flakes. I have several colors, but I keep Merci in my purse and wear it most often.

So there you have it. My favorite makeup products.

If you’re interested in checking out some of the beauty blogs I follow, my favorites are Glamour’s Girls in the Beauty Department, Beauty Editor and The Drugstore Princess.

Tell me what you think.

