Amy Poehler and Other Wonderful Women

I’ve recently discovered the greatness that is Parks and Recreation. I’m late to the party, I know. The show is so awesome, and Amy Poehler is amazing. Strong comedic woman playing strong political woman. I love it. In the past, it would be unusual to find a show with a strong female lead who holds her own without having to be “saved” by a male character. And I don’t really remember seeing any popular women comedians when I was younger, just men. Now there are all these amazing women in Hollywood breaking down barriers and stereotypes. So this post is dedicated to all the awesome role models in show business today who are showing everyone that women can be just as funny and awesome as men. Even, dare I say it, more funny and more awesome.

The Parks and Rec Women

This just goes right along with what I’m saying. (Totally watched this episode last night and it was hilarious.) The three female stars: Amy Poehler, Aubrey Plaza and Rashida Jones.

Tina Fey

Tina Fey: Writer and actor on SNL and 30 Rock, screenplay writer for Mean Girls, author of Bossy Pants, and actress on many a hilarious movie.

Mindy Kaling

Mindy Kaling: Writer, director and actor on The Office, creator and actor on The Mindy Project, author of Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?, and movie actress.

Melissa McCarthy

Melissa McCarthy: Standout actress on Bridesmaids, Identity Thief and other movies, star of Mike & Molly

Whitney Cummings

Whitney Cummings: Creator and star of Whitney (hilariously awesome show that I can’t believe got cancelled), stand up comedienne, creator and producer of Two Broke Girls

Lena Dunham

Lena Dunham: Creator, star and Golden Globe Winner of Girls, writer and director of Tiny Furniture

Kathy Griffin

Kathy Griffin: HILARIOUS stand up comedienne, star of My Life on the D List, author of Official Book Club Selection: A Memoir According to Kathy Griffin, LGBT rights activist

Kristen Wiig

Kristen Wiig: Writor and star of Bridesmaids, actress on SNL

Ellen Degeneres

Ellen Degeneres: Host of The Ellen Degeneres Show, stand up comedienne, all-around awesome lady

Chelsea Handler

Chelsea Handler: Host of Chelsea Lately and After Lately, stand up comedienne, author of My Horizontal Life: A Collection of One-Night Stands, Are You There, Vodka? It’s Me, Chelsea, Chelsea Chelsea Bang Bang, and Lies That Chelsea Handler Told Me

Zooey Deschanel

Zooey Deschanel: Half of the cute band She & Him, star of The New Girl, actress in (500) Days of Summer, Elf and many more. 

I realize these aren’t all the great role model, ground-breaking women out there. And obviously I’m drawn to comediennes. (Probably because I’m not funny at all, and kinda always wished I was.) If I’m missing your favorite awesome Hollywood woman, please feel free to comment and let me know who I’m missing. Here’s another funny Parks and Rec moment for you…

Parks and Recreation

Tell me what you think.

