Ipsy Glam Bag First Impression

I know I’m late to the train, but I signed up for my first beauty box subscription. I chose to go with Ipsy, though I can’t really tell you why I chose them over everyone else. For those who don’t know, you start by filling out a survey about what kind of make up you, what your make up style is, etc. Then once a month you get a package mailed to you with five beauty products that Ipsy thinks you would like. It’s only $10/month, so I figured I’d give it a shot. You can cancel Ipsy at anytime, so if I realized I hated it, I could cancel and I’d only be out $10.

I got my first Ipsy Glam Bag in the mail today.

Ipsy Glam Bag

Make up bag, coupon and package

I’m a sucker for cute packaging, so I loved seeing the bright pink envelope in my mail box- it instantly got me excited about opening it. I really love the make up bag, too. It’s super adorable and a nice travel size. The postcard has special Ipsy deals on the back for the month: 25% off J.Cat, 35% Starlooks, 30% off Cailyn, up to 40% off NYX, 20% off Chella and a free gift plus free shipping from psssst! with a purchase of the Super Hero Hair Duo set. Most of these brands were in my glam bag.

The first item I pulled out was a gel liner:

Cailyn gel eyeliner

Cailyn Line-Fix Gel Eyeliner. Water resistant, smudge-proof, 24 hour wearing, safe for sensitive eyes. Color: Iron

I am not a big eyeliner person. If I ever want to line my eyes, I do it with eye shadow because it’s softer looking and easier to apply. I have used an elf gel liner before (in  black), and I liked it alright, but again, I don’t really use eyeliner. This one though, I’m kind of excited about. It’s a metallic grey, so it’ll be softer than the black I currently have. Here’s a swatch:

Cailyn gel eyeliner

It comes with a built-in brush, though the lines are thicker than I think I’d want.

The promise of smudge-proof and water resistant is certainly true- I tried to wipe it off with a paper towel and water, and it wouldn’t budge. I had to use make up remover and go over it a couple times. I’m excited to try this, and I’m happy they put it in my bag. The retail price of this eyeliner is $21.

The next item was a lip pencil:

Starlooks lip pencil in Tickle Me Pink

Starlooks lip pencil in Tickle Me Pink

I’ve never owned a lip liner, and never had a desire to pick one up. I don’t wear lipstick, though I’ve recently been trying out different tinted balms and stains. Bright pink is definitely my lip color of choice, so this matches a lot of what I have. I decided to put it on to get a better look at the color.

Starlooks lip pencil

I know you’re supposed to line your lips with pencil, but I wanted to see it all over.

I do really like the color- it’s bright without going too crazy. The texture was super chalky though, so I would need at least lip balm over it, possibly a gloss. (Though I’m not a gloss gal either. I looked in my makeup drawers and could only find one.) If I had to be sent a lip pencil, I’m glad they sent me this color, though I’m not sure how much I’ll be using it. The retail price of this pencil is $12.

On to the worst product in my bag:

J.Cat Beauty Sparkling Cream Eyeshadow

J. Cat Beauty Sparkling Cream Eye Shadow Palette in Volta

I would NEVER purchase something like this! It’s thick glitter eye shadow, something I think you would find in an elementary school dress up kit.

J.Cat Beauty sparkling eye shadow swatch

Even worse looking once it’s on!

The texture on this is ridiculous! It has a clear cream shadow base and the glitter is super chunky. It might be okay if it went on without all the splotchy holes, but it doesn’t. Everything about this is bad. And not surprisingly, the retail price is only $4.50.

The next product is another miss:

NYX blush

NYX Powder Blush in Mauve

I use NYX blush a lot, but this color is bad. The picture came out looking much brighter than it actually is. Here’s the image from the NYX website:

NYX Mauve blush

promotional photo from NYX

It’s far too brown toned for me. I tried to swatch it on my hand, but it really didn’t show up well in the photo. I probably could have exchanged this at Ulta if I hadn’t opened it, but I thought of that too late. I might try this on this weekend, just to see what it looks like, but I can’t imagine I’ll like it. The retail price of this is $5.

The final product in my glam bag:

J.Cat fake eyelashes

J.Cat Beauty Eyelashes and Eyelash Glue in EL79

(I can’t get the photo to rotate, sorry.) I’ve never owned fake lashes before, either. They’re not anything I would probably buy myself, but I’m kinda excited that they were in my bag. All of the beauty vloggers I follow have used fake lashes in tutorials before, so I’ve always been a little interested in them, just not enough to spend money on them. We’ll see. If I try them out, I’ll try to remember to blog about them. The retail price of these is $4.

As you can see, there were some hits and some misses. The total retail price of everything is $46.50, so I obviously got an insane deal. This total doesn’t include the adorable make up bag or the value of the coupons either. I’m going to go online to Ipsy and see if they have  a place for me to rate my products or anything, and maybe that’ll help me get more hits in the future. Overall though, I’m happy I signed up for it. Every time I get paid, I have to run to Ulta to pick up some new make up product, just to try something out. I think this subscription will save me some money and help me discover new products and brands. (I’d never heard of any of the brands I got except NYX.)

Tell me what you think.

